Robert M Hjx

Unwanted and condescending correspondence.

Your "Official Business" letter is an insult to intelligence. I never contacted you before, nor will I again. REMOVE MY NAME FROM YOUR MAILING LIST!!
View full review

Preferred solution: TAKE MY NAME OFF YOUR MAILING LIST

User's recommendation: Forget about this SCAM of a company. They are so proud of their Name that is only listed on the bottom of the letter in tiny print.

Anonymous
map-marker Garner, North Carolina

Stop sending me letters

stop sending me letter I do not drive or have a car
View full review
Anonymous

WORST SERVICE EVER!

Don't do it! your paying and they basicly steal your money and the service wont protect what the contract say Engine or Transmission! they are not covered
View full review
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
Anonymous
map-marker Sacramento, California

Havent received any paper work

i ran across this company sometime last month web searching on my computer anyway it said extended warranty on high auto repair bills so i filled out the questioner a day later i got a call service protection i spoke to a lady named crystal she explained what they cover which is my engine an trans mission sounded good till she said the price to start coverage and monthly payments so i said i cant afford it so she asked me to hold on while she spoke to someone help with the price to get insured i spoke to a guy i think he gave the name bob anyway he set me up with a reasonal payment to start coverage with payments i can afford so i gave him my information he said for me to start coverage it wiill take 160.00 dollars and that my policy and coverage papers will be in the mail this was in october i havent goten any type of paper work at all but they got the 160.00 from my account i called the number they gave me 1-87*-321-**** ext.6009 im not able to reach anyone id like my money back.carlos turner

View full review
Loss:
$160
Cons:
  • I dont like being made a fool
Reason of review:
no contract but got my money

Preferred solution: Full refund

2 comments
Guest

Hi I have the same proble just woundering they they send u a card saying how much coverage

Dona Yja

Apparently, you gave them access to your bank account either with a debit card or by giving them your bank account info. Big mistake.

Never, ever use a debit card online---or anywhere, for that matter---as you now realize, once the money is taken out, it is usually gone, gone, gone. By the way, you were scammed.

These protection plans are almost always just a way to scam you out of your money. Now you know.

View more comments (1)
Anonymous
map-marker Mount Laurel, New Jersey

Service Protection Direct Warranty Review from Mount Laurel, New Jersey

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
They make you feel uncomfortable.. because they are very pushy, they do not take No for a answer and very rude on trying to talk you into getting this service protection. My husband didn't want to because of that and I talked him into getting the protection. Having warranty is always good. Really he just called the number on the flyer sent to our house to find out about it. Never told us much.. just selling it. Once purchased. I waited to get the information about this business to know more.. was told we can cancel within 30 days with a refund. Which we had decided on to cancel. Husband called and told Shawn (888-312-**** extention 7019) he was calling to cancel on the phone for like 20 to 25 minutes. Husband had to constantly tell the guy I'm ready to cancel. The guy kept talking and then told my husband if you want there is my direct number call me if you have any questions. So My husband goes wait.. did you cancel this for me and he goes, ohh.. no, I thought you wanted to think about it. Which he kept telling this guy he wants to cancel and he is certaint he's ready to cancel. The guy then.. sometime in their conversation asked him why did my husband sign up with them and it costs the $83 or eighty something dollars to send out the information! Which we did not need that information. Then kept telling my husband that the stuff they sent was their gift to us for signing up and you don't have to send it back. Basically wanted us to send what ever they sent us back to them but my husband was more worried about if the guy was going to cancel it. They guy never said confirmed the cancelation or if or when we would get our money back. So my husband asked him is it canceled already? And Shawn goes.. "well.. thats what you wanted. That's what you called for??" Not a professional company!! So I asked my husband to call back and ask when will we get our refund.. he talked to a lady and was told it will be processed today 09.14.2015 the day we cancelled and takes 2 business days to receive our refund. Today is 09.18.2015, still no refund in my account. Husband called they said for some reason it was barely processed and we should have our money by the end of today. No money still. When We signed up My money was taken the very second so why haven't I received my money back yet.. ?? After talking to this company from the start.. not knowing what this company's name was because it was unclear other than what it covers and how much would our payments be, we as me and my husband asked to give them a call back so "we" can talk about it and decide if that's what we wanted to do and the guy on the phone wasn't trying to hang up was ignoring everything that he and I was saying., he was so rude that my husband had to hang up on him. So it was my mistake for telling him let's just go with it after they were really rude. Wish.. and never again would go with this company or recommend it ever!! Never jump into something, until you do your research and think about it.. so you don't go through this. 3 out of 5 people we spoke to was rude. Now I'm unsure if We are even getting our money back and if We have to cancel our debit card because they have that information.
View full review
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
Anonymous
map-marker Rockville, Maryland

Other Product Review

Esta compañia es una estafa pero yo los voi a llevar a la corte para que dejen de robar son unos buenos ladrones
View full review
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
Anonymous

No response to my claim.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

On 07/25/14 I MADE ARRANGEMENTS FOR DIRECT AUTO PROTECTION DEALER SVC. I SPOKE T0 BOB ( THIS IS THE NUMBER HE GAVE ME)1-80*-644-****.

HE WAS PAID $599.00 AND GAVE ME CONFIRMATION #19264****-*871. I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY PAPER WORK. I DECIDED TO CANCEL THE SERVICE FOR LACK OF PAPER WORK. I FOLLOWED INSTRUCTIONS AND FAXED OVER THE REQUEST CONF# 19264****-*871 NO RESPONSE TO DATE.

I SENT A 2ND FAX ASKING IF THE ORIGINAL WAS RECEIVED 0N 08/14/14 ONCE AGAIN NOTHING.I WANT MY PAYMENT RETURNED TO ME OF $ 599.00 NOW. I HAVE MADE MANY CALLS NO CALL BACKS.

PLEASE HELP ME.

VIRGINIA LUMZER....TRULY42785@***.NET OR 910-575-****. INSURANCE FOR MY 2011 FORD FOCUS

View full review
Loss:
$599
Reason of review:
Problem with delivery

Preferred solution: Full refund

1 comment
Guest

Type your message hereBEWARE!!! They called me today wanting to sell me extended protection on my Kia Sorento.

They SOUND legit, but I was skeptical. I kept asking questions and they told me that I needed to "rush" because my current warranty was about to expire. "Michael Davis" wanted $399 up front and then $139.24 a month for 24 months. When I said that it was a bit high, he said that he could lower it to $139 and then $139 a month for 24 months.

That made me laugh. Look, when someone tries to "rush" you into something, that's a huge red flag.

Legit companies don't try to rush you into anything, they give detailed information and give you time to look things up and think things over. Don't fall for DIRECT AUTO "rush" SCAM.

Anonymous
map-marker Itasca, Illinois

Simple Review #508493

I want to know where they got my phone number? They're ambulance chasers.
View full review
Selvin Utl
map-marker Waterloo, Illinois

Ripoff

Before my 36,000 miles ran out, I took out a extended warrenty for a 100,000 miles on my car with Service Protection Direct and thought I was covered. I got a letter in the mail saying it had run out. The government should put this *** out of business and get every one there money back. I have been retired 21 years and can't afford to get rip off by a *** company. After this I will not take out anything from any company. I sent Jeff Session a email about this ***. I want it stoped now. They should be in jail.
View full review
Loss:
$5300
2 comments
Guest

Where were you when I was selling insurance...

John N Mzy

As you found out, you should never, ever buy an extended car warranty from some unknown company. If you really think you need one, get it thru the dealer and with the manufacturer.

View more comments (1)
Christel J Mkp
map-marker Denver, Colorado

What ever U DO ....DO NOT PURCHASE....

I purchased a contract after having the contract they would not HONOR what was clearly in the agreement and my truck sat in a shop for 3 weeks. I bought this policy on a used truck that was 7 years old and after owning the policy I had a check engine light come on I took it to the dealership i paid for everything that was not covered by my warranty after, and yet my truck still had issues and it was the transmission once I contacted Service protection they advised me i need to have maintenance statements and continue to say that they didn't receive them in the mean time my truck sat at the dealership not getting the work done to see if the warranty was going to cover what was clearly listed under my agreement. Well they refused to up hold the contract however and continue to take money from my account on a service that they used every excuse for. I told them what I was told when I purchased the contract is not what is happening now, I continued to try to provide this company with all the paperwork they requested on my truck and still never got anywhere. They also were so rude to the dealership that my truck was at they advised them that they had never experience a company that would continue to give me the run around and not uphold there end of my contract I paid over $2,000 dollars to work that wasn't covered under this policy and then when the issue was something that fell under my contract it should of been taken care of it wasn't they staled time gave me the round wouldn't return my call. I have never experienced a company that told you one thing to sign the contract and once it came time for them to uphold the contract they used every other reason why they wouldn't pay for something. I bought a used truck and didn't have no idea that 8 months down the road I would have issue's who does, however that is why i purchased a extended warranty for a piece of mind and that is far from what I received. I am clearly not happy with this company was told by the rep that this was a a+ rating company on the BBB which I see is not the case. The sell you a policy and tell you so many lies to get the contract if you ever need to file a claim the use every excuse on why they are not covering this claim and the way that I was treated from this company is to top the nightmare off. I would strongly like my case to be looked at and I would hope that something is done to stop a company like this in the future. It is bad enough our way of transportation is not working but to have to get the run around and the rudeness and the awful service by this company is far out of any business practice.
View full review
Loss:
$3255
Anonymous
map-marker Elizabethtown, Kentucky

Received 21 Day REMINDER (2nd REMINDER) letter

Just *** *** ***. No website listed. Acct# Placed in the paragraphs, which shows me that this is a business scam and not a helpful, personal letter of concern. I called to have my name taken off the mailing list immediately & I was almost yelled at by asking for my customer ID#. I wanted to just open up on them about how their business is crooked and embaressing but I didn't. I then proceeded to search for my "customer ID#" and said that I am trying to find it on the *** letter that I received and she yelled louder saying that If I cursed over the phone that she would hang up on me and kept complaining about I don't know what! I gave her my ID# and thankfully she said that i was taken off the list! lol
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Tallahassee, Florida

Scam

This looks like a scam, point-blank. I didn't even bother calling them. I received a letter and 3 post cards informing me that this is my "final" reminder. How can I take 4 pieces of mail delivered to me on the same day seriously? I bought a 2006 Corolla a month ago as-is. I know that I have to pay out of pocket for repairs. Getting this "warranty" notice is bogus as well to me. Don't buy it. Call your dealer before you call these people. As other reviews have stated, this company will probably manipulate you into buying something you don't need.
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Dallas, Texas

Markmasonelectric

Service Protection Direct failed to honor the warranty on vehicle repairs and parts found in the warranty contract agreement for bad power steering pump and reservoir. Adjustor failed to showup for 2 days and argued with dealer service manager about warranty items stating they were not responsible for repairing the vehicle even though the service agreement has the parts and repair items listed on the contract. I called company and left after hours message that the power steering pump had gone out and requested a call back which wasnt received ever. I delivered the vehicle to the dealer on Saturday where it sat until thursday afternoon without any repairs until the adjustor decided to finally showup after repeated calls to Service Protection Direct and Marathon their adjustor company. I had renewed the extended warranty with them for $2500 after already purchasing a previous warranty from them for $1750. I kept my end of the contract agreement and paid the monthly fees in full but when it came time for them to honor the warranty - they fabricated an excuse to not fix the vehicle.
View full review
Loss:
$1500
Anonymous
map-marker Athens, Georgia

Rude Customer Service

Got a letter from this company informing that I can purchase the extended coverage for my car whose warranty is about to expire. I called and when the representative told his price I declined and asked about offers if any. He then rudely asked me how much I pay for insurance for my car though no accidents and why cannot I pay money for extended warranty. When I tried to explain, he became even more rude and told good bye and hung up on me. I felt insulted. very bad customer service. Good I did not buy from them
View full review
Bruce C Tsz
map-marker Idaho Falls, Idaho

Service Protection Direct poor Coverage

I purchased Service Protection Direct (SPD) extended warranty for 2006 Dodge Mega Cab 3500 on 12/14/2008. Total purchase price was $3255.00 with 200 down and 18 monthly payments of $164.17. Coverage was "Protectors Choice" which expired 11/13/2013 and was $100 Deductible. On September 21, 2012 while traveling on vacation my automatic transmission goes out. I took my truck to an authorized Dodge dealer to have it looked at. They contact Service Protection Direct and are told an representative will have to inspect the transmission. This took 3 working days. I receive a call from the service manager and SPD wants all maintenance receipts. I had the transmission serviced at 80K miles which I supplied receipt. SPD then asked for engine maintenance receipts. I told them that has nothing to do with the transmission but supplied that as well. After 2 days they came back and told me they would replace the transmission with a 3rd party unit that had a 1.5 year warranty. I explained that I wanted a genuine Chrysler transmission that had a 3 year warranty. They told me I would have to pay the difference which would be $1300 dollars. I told them that I was not going to pay anything and wanted the equipment replaced with the same equipment I had warrantied. They would not do this. They told me that the cost of a Chrysler transmission was more than I had paid. I reminded them that is how warranties work and they should know that being in that business. To make things worse the truck was in a different state than where I lived. Anyway, after a battle I told them I was not going to pay an additional dime and wanted the truck fixed with original equipment. They ended up putting in a 3rd party transmission at which I promptly traded the truck in telling the Chevy dealer exactly what happened. I would recommend someone looking for extended warrant to look elsewhere. Service Protection Direct is a rip off and very difficult to work with.
View full review
Loss:
$1300
Steve Vqe
map-marker Laguna Hills, California

Service Protection Direct is a deceiving - don't buy their extended auto warranty

2.5 years ago I purchased an extended auto warranty from Service Protection Direct in reponse to one of the many mailers I received from the company that told me I could extend the warranty coverage. Unfortunately, I agreed and paid $2250 for the extended warrany policy from Service Protection Direct.

During the last 2.5 years, the company denied all claims and never paid a single dime in repair costs. Now I want to sell my car and everybody I talk to says that extended warranties are refundable on a prorated basis for the unused portion. When I called Service Protection Direct, they told me that their product is structured in a way that it is only refundable within the first 30 days of purchase. They don't operate in good faith in my experience.

It's now clear to me that this company purposefully designs their product to avoid standard consumer protections afforded by the law on extended auto warranties. I doubt this is legal so I'm going to get my attorney involved based on the principal of the matter, regardless of the cost.

Any company that designs its products and policies to alienate customers and not honor standard industry terms for cancellation refunds is clearly not interested in repeat business. Be aware of any company that doesn't care about repeat business from the same customer because it probably means their product/service is not designed in good faith and you will probably end up being scammed.

View full review
Loss:
$2250
2 comments
Guest

What were the claims denied for and what kind of level coverage.

Guest

:(

I am currently on the phone with Service Protection Direct and I am not happy. I purchased an extended warranty last year for 3200. I was told I could sell the contract back to the company or transfer the contract with the sale of the car. I have been told by two individuals that they cannot provide a prorated amount of the account should I sell it back to Service Protection Direct. I was told the accounting department only works on "invalid" accounts. I was also told by Gracie (Customer Support) and Lisa (Customer Support Mgr.) that I will have to pay a $150.00 cancellation fee. This was news to me given when I purchased the contract, I was told there are no cancellation fees. I finally asked to speak with Lisa's boss. I was connected with Dave C. Initially, he was rude in that he would just listen to my frustrating story. He continually attempted to interrupt me. He finally told me that I was being rude and that I would not give him a chance to speak. He then told me that I needn't continue my story because he's in agreement that Service Protection Direct should give me the prorated amount of the account. I asked why Gracie and Lisa told me the exact opposite and he stated he didn't know but would get to the bottom of it. He is to talk with the accounting dept. and call me back with the needed information, at the latest, tomorrow morning.

All, I can say is keep escalating the call until you get the truth or the issue resolved. Having several years as the Sr. Mgr., Customer Support for a major U.S. company, I knew the first two support individuals I spoke with were dishonest or, just plain didn't know what they were talking about.

Oh, Dave C. also told me that there is no cancellation fee due to my state's regulations. Just what I told the first two representatives. Extremely frustrating!

View more comments (1)

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article